Law Making

The provincial legislature makes provincial laws and may adopt a Constitution for the province if two-thirds of its Members agree.

Legislation & Oversight

The Legislature provides effective and efficient mechanisms to oversee the executive. The Institution makes and implements strategies

Public Participation and Petitions

The Public Participation and Petitions (PPP) Unit was established to comply with the constitutional imperative that a provincial legislature

Our Mission

"An Activist Legislature that Champions Democracy"

Watch Video

About Us

Welcome to the Free State Legislature

Free State Legislature is one of the nine provincial legislatures in South Africa.

Based in Bloemfontein, the FSL is constitutionally mandated to pass legislation, provide a forum for public debate, involve the public in the law-making process, and oversee the activities of the provincial executive.

The Free State Legislature consists of 30 Members, elected every five years on a proportional representation system. The Premier and members of the Executive Council are appointed from these Members.

This website contains information about the role and function of the Free State Legislature, news, Legislative activities including sitting and standing committee meetings, Members of the Provincial Legislatures (MPL), legislation, publications, career opportunities, etc.

Political Parties Represented in the Free State Legislature

7th Administration

16 Seats

African National Congress

7 Seats

Democratic Alliance

4 Seats

Economic Freedom Fighters

1 Seat

Freedom Front Plus

1 Seat

African Congress for Transformation

1 Seat

uMkhonto weSizwe

Coming this week

First Sitting of the house

Following consultation with the Office of the Judge President of the Free State Division of Hight Court, Hon Justice C.J Musi,
the Legislature notes the date of the 14th of June 2024 as the confirmed date for the First Sitting of the House. Section 110 (1) of the Constitution, state that “after an election, the first sitting of a provincial legislature must take place at a time and on a date determined by a judge designated by the Chief Justice, but not more than 14 days after the election results has been declared.”
The Constitution also empowers the Judge President or his/her
representative, to swear-in designated members in a form of an oath or
affirmation. The Judge President or his/her designate will also preside over the election of the Speaker and the Speaker will preside over the election of the Deputy Speaker. The swearing-in marks the beginning of the new legislative term. This process ensures that elected members commit themselves to be faithful to the people and to uphold the Constitution before they can begin their work.
House Sitting is convened as follows:
Date: Friday, 14 June 2024
Time: 9H30-10H00
Venue: Fourth Raadsaal, Bloemfontein
Business: (1) Swearing in new Members
(2) Election of the Speaker
(3) Premier,
(4) Deputy Speaker and Presiding Officers


Call for Nomination

Members' Birthday June

Wishing our members a happy birth month

©2024. Free State Legislature. All Rights Reserved.